The Martha Belle Barrett Scholarship for Undergraduate Academic Excellence

This scholarship recognizes graduating seniors who have exhibited outstanding scholarly achievement in history over the entire course of their academic careers at the University of Illinois.  Selection is made by the Director of Undergraduate Studies and Academic Advisor in History in consultation with the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, on the basis of outstanding GPA and superior commitment to the study of history as evidenced by the students’ records in upper-division courses. 

Walter N. Breymann Scholarship

Established in 2010, this scholarship recognizes promising History majors who have demonstrated academic merit, future promise, and financial need.  It is supported by the generous bequest of Irmudine Breymann (M.A. ’47) and is named in honor of her husband, Dr. Walter Breymann (M.A. ’47, Ph.D ’50).   Eligible candidates will be those History majors with junior or senior standing who are identified by the University as demonstrating financial need.  From this list, the Director of Undergraduate Studies will select those students with the most impressive records of achievement, in consultation...

William F. and Virginia C. Waterman Scholarship

The William F. and Virginia C. Waterman Scholarship will be awarded based on performance in the core required classes for the History major:  History 200 and 498.   The selection committee will also pay attention to nominees' overall academic records (with particular attention to History classes) and improvement over time in the case of mixed academic records.  Scholarship winners will be selected at the end of the academic year, with the scholarship awarded the following year.