Department of History

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign



2019-2020 Annual Awards

UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS & HONORS

Martha Belle Barrett Scholarship for Undergraduate Academic Excellence

Spenser Bailey Gabrielle Marback-Pehler

Jensen Rehn **Thomas Weller**

Walter N. Breymann Scholarship for Outstanding **Undergraduate History Majors**

Aidan Guzman-Perez Caitlin Lopez-Battung

Taylor Ann Mazique Raul Salazar, Jr.

Christina A. Brodbeck Digital Humanities Scholarship

Spenser Bailey

Jayne and Richard Burkhardt Scholarship for Outstanding **Undergraduate Achievement**

Johnna Jones Caitlin Kingsley Jason Smith

Katherine Mutka

Centenary Prize for Outstanding Senior in the Teaching of Social Studies

Michael Ruby Mary Elizabeth Zerwic

C. Ernest Dawn Undergraduate Research Travel Award

Broderick Khoshbin

FRIENDS OF HISTORY

Friends of History Undergraduate Research Travel Grant

Rubab Hyder

Friends of History Distinguished Service Award

Jakob Domagala	Jensen Rehn
Rubab Hyder	Hailey Vivian Vasquez
Giana Poerio	

Robert W. Johannsen Undergraduate U.S. History Scholarship

Kassidy Mahoney

Mark H. Leff Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduate Honors Thesis

Broderick Khoshbin – "The Hidden War: Injustice in the Wake of the Philippine-American War."

Michael Scher Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Paper

Amelia Watkins -- "Evaluating the Indigenous Food Sovereignty Movement as an Opportunity for Reconciliation"

William & Virginia Waterman Scholarship in Academic Excellence

William Crimmins Diamond Dadej Nathan Jolley Kavi Naidu Raul Salazar Krista Zamora

GRADUATE AWARDS

Frederick S. Rodkey Memorial Prize in Russian History

Jacob Bell

Joseph Ward Swain Prize for Outstanding Seminar Paper

Rhiannon Hein -- "In a Queer Time and Place: Rachel Varnhagen's Life and Letters"

Joseph Ward Swain Prize for Outstanding Published Paper

Ryan Allen -- "Resurrecting the Archaic: Symbols and Recurrence in Henri Lefebvre's Revolutionary Romanticism," published in Modern Intellectual History (2019).

TEACHING AWARDS

George S. & Gladys W. Queen Excellence in Teaching Award in History

Rana Hogarth

Dr. Charles DeBenedetti Award for Teaching Excellence by a Teaching Assistant

Beth Ann Williams

William C. Widenor Teaching Appointment for 2020-2021

Fatma Pelin Tiglay HIST 495/498 – Nations and Nationalism

Adrian van der Velde HIST 495/498 – Violence in the Early Modern Atlantic World

SENIOR HONORS THESES

Spenser Bailey -- "Tower Town: Chicago's Bohemia and the Realities of Urban Life, 1906-1936"

Rubab Hyder -- "Inside and Outside the Archive: New Histories of Women in Indian Anticoloniality During Twentieth Century Germany"

Corbin Kakac -- "Eyes on an E'er-Retreating Prize: Understanding Evolution in the War-Making Strategy of Alexander the Great."

Broderick Khoshbin -- "The Hidden War: Injustice in the Wake of the Philippine-American War"

Kavi Naidu -- "Administrators and Acid: Mid-Level Administrators Moderate Highs in Higher Education, 1967-1974"

Jensen Rehn -- "Envisioning Emancipation in the Land of Lincoln: Contextualizing Commemorations in Illinois, 1863-1963."

Zhuhun (Tom) Wang, (Ralph Mathisen) -- "Roman Cistophori: Economic Policy and Political Messages in Asia Minor (133 B.C.E -18 B.C.E)"

OTHER HONORS OUR HISTORY STUDENTS HAVE RECEIVED

Robert H. Bierma Scholarship for Superior Academic Merit in History (College of LAS)

Johnna Jones Kassidy Mahoney Ryan Yoakum

Yaseem Ragab

Bronze Tablet

Michael Ruby Jensen Rehn

Graduate Student Leadership Award (LAS Graduate College)

Saniya Ghanoiu

Illinois Program for Research in Legal Humanities Pre-Doctoral Fellow for 2020-2021

Silvia Escanilla Huerta

Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities Graduate Student Fellows for 2020-2021

Olivia Hagedorn Elizabeth Matsushita

LAS Dean's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by a Teaching Assistant

Beth Ann Williams

Phi Beta Kappa

Spenser Bailey Gabrielle Marback-Pehler

